Group Admins

• Profile picture of Kati Morton

Depression & Anxiety

Public Group active 13 hours, 10 minutes ago

This is a place to talk about our experiences and lend support to one another. I know that depression and anxiety often come together. When we aren’t feeling anxious we are feeling depressed, and vice versa. I hope this can give you all a safe place to get some support and encouragement.

Does depression and anxiety come and go?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Mehmet 3 months ago.

Does depression and anxiety come and go?

• Hi,
    My husband and I moved from Australia to the UK one year ago. I was a nurse in Australia but due to current laws, I am unable to work as a nurse in the UK. This big change was very hard for me. For the months of April to September I fell into a really dark place, not able to get out of bed/off the sofa, crying all the time, feeling like a failure etc etc, suicidal ideation, as well as anxiety so bad that I could hardly even go for a walk outside without having an anxiety attack. I have never suffered from feelings like this before in my life. So….I went to my GP (in the UK) and asked for help. He referred me to an NHS counsellor. Due to the pressures within the NHS, I had to wait almost three months to see the counsellor. The first two months wait was pretty awful because I was feeling so low and the anxiety so bad. However this last months wait, my mood seems to have improved and my anxiety lessening. I still don’t feel like I’m completely back to normal, but i feel so much better than the last few months – no more suicidal ideation, I’m able to go to my job, able to sit in a busy restaurant with minimal anxiety. Is it normal to feel ‘so low’ and then within a few weeks feel ‘okay’? I am booked into start my counselling sessions next week but not I’m feeling a bit silly, because I am feeling much better. And i feel like perhaps the counselling sessions could go to someone more needing