This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Leanne Leanne 3 months, 1 week ago.

#KatiFAQ: When is the right time to leave university?

• Rosie

Dear Kati,

I’m in my final year at university and i’ve been struggling a lot. The work is piling on and i’m slowly isolating myself from other people. I can’t sleep because all i’m thinking about is work and I can’t eat because I’m too anxious. Any spare time is taken up applying for jobs and deferred entry masters programmes. I also have a part-time job to help fund my degree. I know i’m making myself ill but i’m scared to give up everything i’ve worked for. When is the right time to leave university?

Thank you for all you do,
    Rosie
    x

libby

Hey,

I don’t know when the right time is for you, but I was in a similar situation as an undergrad. If you aren’t already, see the campus counselor or a therapist. Most schools will work with you when you’re struggling to get you to finish. See if there are any accommodations that might be suitable (I was able to get a private room for testing/extended time for exams, early access to power points, a note taker, a tutor to help keep me accountable, etc.) It can make a world of difference to ease the burden. Plus it helps having someone in your corner to talk to.

It also might be worth considering taking a medical withdrawal for a semester or two. It won’t derail your life, you can get the rest you need, take care of yourself, and you’ll be able to go back when you’re feeling better. When I went this route, the only thing it meant for me was that it would take me 5 years to graduate instead of 4. It didn’t matter to my GPA, and it gave me the room I needed to breathe.