This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Gary Gary 5 months, 2 weeks ago.

Attachment to therapist

• Emily

This is my first time posting anywhere in these forums, so please forgive me if I’m posting this in the wrong area.

I have several diagnoses – the biggest of them being PTSD and BPD. I have been in DBT and individual therapy for a little over a year. When I first started treatment I was asked if I preferred a woman or a man for a therapist. At the time, I was so desperate for help I said I didn’t care.
    Long story short, I ended up with a male therapist. He’s very smart and wonderful at his job, but I can’t shake this horrible feeling that I am way too attached to him. I am terrified and embarrassed. It’s making me want to bail out on therapy all together. I also have this gut feeling that he is very attached to me as well. We do a lot of difficult work in session, but other times it’s basically just sitting and shooting the breeze for 50 minutes.

I’ve read countless articles on transference and counter transference and I’ve watched Kati’s videos on being attached to your therapist. I know it’s a major thing in my therapy process but I honestly don’t think I could ever bring it up in session. I’d be absolutely mortified if I discovered that I had been misinterpreting things this whole time and I don’t think I could ever let myself be that vulnerable. I’ve worked extremely hard to get to where I am with him trust wise as it is.

I apologize for the lengthy post, but I’m so lost. I don’t have any support system outside of group and therapy, so there’s no one I can talk to about this. Is this just a trait of my BPD rearing its ugly head? Or is there more to be concerned about? Does anybody have any advice on this topic? I would be immensely grateful for any input.

If you made it to the end of this, my sincerest thanks. 🙂

Kat